Overview of STA

Spokane Transit Authority (STA) is a municipal corporation formed in 1981 when the region’s voters approved the establishment of a Public Transportation Benefit Area (PTBA). The regional board of Directors is primarily composed of elected officials from the jurisdictions within the PTBA, including Spokane County. Specifically, there are nine voting elected officials, two ex-officio elected officials from area small cities, and one non-voting labor representative.

The Chief Executive Officer, E. Susan Meyer, oversees the day-to-day operations of STA’s Fixed Route bus service, Paratransit demand/response van service and the Vanpool program.

STA employs approximately 560 individuals, working out of four STA-owned locations in the Spokane region. The majority of these employees are vehicle operators and maintenance personnel.

Scroll to Top